Lionel Messi, Megan Rapinoe win The Best FIFA Player Awards 2019

2019 Sep 24

Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe were the big winners on Monday night after claiming the awards for the best male and female player in the world at The Best FIFA Football Awards in Milan, Italy.

Argentina ace Lionel Messi was named the Best Men’s Player for a record sixth time beating Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk and old rival Cristiano Ronaldo to win the annual prize.

The Barcelona striker scored 51 goals in 49 appearances helping the Spanish side win the La Liga title as well as reach the semi-finals of the Champions League and the Copa Del Rey final. The 32-year-old Argentine also won the European Golden Shoe and played his part in his country’s third-place finish at the 2019 Copa America.

American soccer icon Megan Rapinoe won the Best Women’s Player award for the first time in her career after leading her country to a second consecutive Women's World Cup title in July. United States co-captain beat USA teammate and fellow co-captain Alex Morgan and England's Lucy Bronze to the individual honour.

The 34-year-old earned the World Cup Golden Boot after netting six goals and the Golden Ball for the best player on the field during the competition.

Best Fifa Football Awards

  • Men’s Player: Lionel Messi
  • Women’s Player: Megan Rapinoe

  • Men’s Coach: Jurgen Klopp

  • Women’s Coach: Jill Elliss
  • Men’s Goalkeeper: Alisson
  • Women’s Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal

  • Puskás Award: Daniel Zsori

  • Fan Award: Silvia Grecco

  • Fair Play Award: Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United