Without Ibrahimovic, Sweden gave its preliminary list for the World Cup

Without Ibrahimovic, Sweden gave its preliminary list for the World Cup

2018 May 16

The Swedish coach, Jan "Janne" Andersson, made public this Tuesday the list of 23 selected for the World Cup in Russia which includes Alavés forward John Guidetti and in which there are no big surprises.

In the call they are all the players that have constituted the block that has returned to Sweden to a World Cup twelve years after its last participation, a group that stands out for its collective strength and its organization, but that does not have big names.

German Leipzig interior Emil Forsberg - whose injuries have prevented him from repeating his brilliant Bundesliga season - is the closest thing to a star on a roster of three goalkeepers, eight defenders, eight midfielders and four strikers.

Andersson decided not to include the powerful interior Ken Sema, who shone this season in the Europa League with the Östersund, to summon in his place Marcus Rohdén, a decision that justified by the versatility of the Crotone midfielder.

Yes it is the goalkeeper, Robin Olsen, recovered from the shoulder injury produced in March and forced him to go through surgery, although he has not yet reappeared with his club, the Danish Copenhagen.

Miss the hero of the playoff against Italy, midfielder Jakob Johansson, author of the only goal of the tie, still convalescing from a torn knee ligament.

The Swedish Federation had cut last month any chance on a return of Zlatan Ibrahimovic, retired of the selection from 2016, when affirming that the own player did not have thought to change of idea, although he himself had fed the speculations with ambiguous messages in the networks social.

Sweden is framed in group B of the World Cup, with Germany, Mexico and South Korea.

The list is composed of the following players:

Goalkeepers: Robin Olsen (Copenhagen), Karl-Johan Johnsson (Guingamp), Kristoffer Nordfeldt (Swansea).

Defenses: Mikael Lustig (Celtic), Victor Nilsson Lindelöf (Manchester United), Andreas Granqvist (Krasnodar), Martin Olsson (Swansea), Ludwig Augustinsson (Werder Bremen), Filip Helander (Bologna), Emil Krafth (Bologna), Pontus Jansson ( Leeds).

Midfielders: Victor Claesson (Krasnodar), Jimmy Durmaz (Toulouse), Emil Forsberg (Leipzig), Sebastian Larsson (Hull), Gustav Svensson (Seattle), Albin Ekdal (Hamburg), Oscar Hiljemark (Genoa), Marcus Rohden (Crotone)

Forwards: Marcus Berg (Al Ain), John Guidetti (Alaves), Isaac Kiese Thelin (Waasland-Beveren), Ola Toivonen (Toulouse).
Soccer field